Cooking · Uncategorized

Falling Behind

Yes the title is meant to be punny! I have been so absorbed in school, work, and keeping up with day to day chores that I have really fallen behind with my sewing. I am enjoying all the colors and being able to dig all of the sweaters from the back of my closet. With the cooler temps come warm and comforting foods. I thought I’d share with you the recipe for this amazing pumpkin spice cake I made with dinner tonight that was really quite delicious. I made up the recipe myself by just dumping things I had on hand together and hoping it worked.

IMG_0192.JPG
Cake
1 Box Spice Cake Mix
1 Can pumpkin purée (NOT the pie mix)
2 Eggs
1/2 cup water

Glaze
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
1/4 cup Milk
1/4 cup Butter
1 tsp Maple Syrup
Cinnamon to taste

Cake
Mix up all the ingredients and bake in a 13×9 pan at 350 until a fork comes out clean. Once it comes out of the oven take a fork and poke holes all over the top of the cake. This will allow the cake to soak up the yummy glaze you just made!

Glaze
Mix all ingredients in a sauce pan. Let simmer on medium heat until all the butter and sugar is melted together. Then pour it all over your cake while hot.

This cake would be great served warm with a glass of milk or even a cup of black coffee!

This turned out even better than what I expected! I wish however I would have thought to poke the holes in the top of the cake BEFORE I poured on the glaze! I hope you enjoy this recipe while you sit in a pile of leaves in your most favorite sweater!

Here is a photo of my pup and I enjoying the fall colors and leaves!

IMG_0187.JPG

4 thoughts on “Falling Behind

    1. It was soo good we pawed at the pan like wild animals! Haha I wasn’t sure how good it was going to be so I didn’t bother to take a “pretty” photo before we dug in! Let me know how it turns out for you if you make it!

  1. This happens to me, too. I fall behind in my planned projects. But a break is sometimes exactly what is needed whether it be for baking cakes or taking long walks. When you come back to your sewing it will be with a renewed enthusiasm for it. After all, this is a hobby and we should want to do it but never feel compelled to do it.

Leave a comment