Uncategorized

Bicycle Skirt

Here I am its Saturday afternoon and I am all prepared to sew! I get out my fabric, pattern, scissors, pins ect. and lay it all out on the counter. Much to my dismay the Burda pattern I had chosen for my fabric was not going to work! This is what happens when you let someone at the counter talk you out of that extra yard.

Image

 

Lucky me, I have a stash of vintage patterns! I went digging through and found a pattern similar to a couple of skirts I already own. This, my friends, was a very happy accident! This pattern had pockets, was simple, and a style I already knew I liked. Plus I had just enough fabric to cut it out with! By just enough I mean I had to cut the waist band and 1 out of the 4 pocket pieces from some mustard colored scraps I had on hand that matched wonderfully! 

The pattern originally called for the waist band to be sewn on and then slip stitched down on the inside. Since I am no good at hand sewing I changed it up a bit and sewed the skirt up into the waist band. Then I created more cute details by adding a top stitch to the top and bottom of the waist band. Also, instead of hidden hooks I used buttons to add a cute detail! I am beyond happy with my results and this skirt will be added to my “favorites” section of the closet! This skirt took me about 3 days to put together working on it several hours each day. It seems like I can never just sit down and sew I also have to have a bunch of other things going on too! Its not perfect but Its so comfy! Also whoever said short girls should wear long skirts…well lets just say I don’t take that advice. I love the classy look of a tea length and its comfortable knowing I can bend and move without worrying if anything will show! 

I didn’t really take any photos of the process but today after finishing it I put it on and headed outside with my photo timer app to snap a few shots of myself! Since I was my own photographer the shots aren’t the best but you get the idea!

ImageImageImageImage

One thought on “Bicycle Skirt

Leave a Reply

